The PUD has multiple COVID-19 Assistance Program for customers who need assistance paying their bills due to economic hardships resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. Disconnects for non-payment and late fees are currently suspended per Governor's Proclamation 20-23.7.

A PUD is a not-for-profit utility formed by a vote of the people. PUDs are public entities, governed by a nonpartisan, locally elected board of commissioners. Commissioners responsibilities include appointing the utility General Manager, setting rates, establishing policy, approving budgets and providing direction for the operation of the utility. Commissioners serve a six-year term.

Grays Harbor PUD Commissioners meet bi-weekly in open session where members of the public can observe and participate in the decision-making process. Grays Harbor PUD Commission meetings are held on the first and third Monday of each month (unless otherwise announced) beginning at 4:30pm in the Dennis Nichols Building, located at 220 Myrtle Street in Hoquiam. Prior to the meeting at 3:30pm, the Commissioners and Senior Leadership Team hold a workshop session during which issues impacting the PUD are reported on and discussed. Workshop sessions are also open to the public.

For more information on public utility districts, go to the Washington Public Utility District Association website.

General Manager Dave Ward

Dave Ward graduated from Aberdeen High School in 1979, attended Grays Harbor College, graduated from Washington State University in 1984 with a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering, and is a licensed professional electrical engineer.

He joined Tacoma Power in 1985 as an electrical engineer. He worked as an electrical engineer at Grays Harbor PUD from 1990-92 before leaving for a supervisory position at Tacoma Power. In 1997, he began serving as the Assistant Transmission and Distribution Manager and was appointed Transmission and Distribution Manager in 2007. He joined Grays Harbor PUD as the General Manager in June of 2013. He is a member of Washington State University’s Power Engineering Advisory Board.

He is married to his wife, Robin and has two children Jennifer and Aaron. The Wards have many interests including enjoying the outdoors (hiking, camping, fishing, clamming, etc.), gardening, reading and home projects. They also enjoy participating in volunteer activities in the community and for their church.

Commissioner Arie Callaghan

Arie Callaghan began his term in January of 2013 and was reelected in 2018. Arie serves District 1 which is the east Grays Harbor area. Arie is a life-long Grays Harbor resident. He resides in Elma with his wife Tina and is employed by Mason Trucking as a Truck Supervisor.

In his free time Arie enjoys spending time with family, hitting the open road in his jeep, and working in his yard. He is also a self-proclaimed "huge Nascar fan."

Phone: 360-538-6514

Commissioner Russ Skolrood

Russ Skolrood was elected in 2008 and reelected in 2014.  Russ retired from the Hoquiam School District in 2020, where he taught for 18 years. Prior to that, he taught at Aberdeen High School and at the juvenile detention facility in Junction City. Russ has a Bachlor of Arts degree in Education from Western Washington University and a Masters Degree in Educational Administration from Grand Canyon University. In addition to teaching, Russ has coached wrestling.

He is a third generation Harborite and lives in Hoquiam.

Phone: 360-538-6289

Commissioner Dave Timmons

Dave Timmons was elected in November of 2010. His term started January 3, 2011 and was reelected in 2016. Dave has served more than 30 years in law enforcement and retired as the Deputy Chief for the City of Aberdeen Police Department. Prior to joining the police force, Dave served in the United States Marine Corp.

Dave is a life-long resident of Aberdeen. He graduated from Aberdeen High School and is married to his “high school sweetheart.” They have raised two children and currently reside in Central Park.

Dave enjoys spending time with his family, riding his Harley Davidson motorcycle and spending time working in his yard.

Phone: 360-538-6267

Tiffanee Parson 
Phone: 360-538-6384